Waiting On Baby: When A Due Date Comes & Goes…

Depending on how you calculate the due date, I am 40.2 weeks pregnant or exactly 40 weeks today.

Truth be told, I never expected to make it to my due date. I know that for many first-time moms, going over a due date is common. I’ve measured several weeks ahead in tummy height though for most of the 3rd trimester. Baby is also measuring on the larger end – estimated to be about 8.5 pounds!

Waiting On Baby...

Waiting On Baby…

So now here we are… waiting on baby girl. I’m so incredibly anxious. Every day that creeps by I worry about not being able to have a natural birth the way I’d hoped. I worry that we’ll have to induce if she stays in there much longer and that it could fail and I’ll end up with a c-section because my body just isn’t ready.

From what I’ve read, there are some real increased risks of letting a baby go to 42 weeks or longer – like increased risk of meconium aspiration. Bigger babies also have an increased risk of shoulder dystocia (a very serious obstetrical complication). Oh, and we have family coming in around the 41.5 week mark, so I feel a little bit of self-imposed pressure there to have a baby in arms by the time they arrive.

On the other hand, the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) does not recommend induction for suspected macrosomia (also known as “big” baby) in large part because fetal size is very hard to predict:

“In cases of term patients with suspected fetal macrosomia, current evidence does not support early induction of labor. Results from recent reports indicate that induction of labor at least doubles the risk of cesarean delivery without reducing the risk of shoulder dystocia or newborn morbidity…” – ACOG Practice Bulletin No. 22, November 2000 issue of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

In the hope of avoiding an induction or other interventions, I’m doing everything I can think of to encourage baby to join us on her own – walking, shoveling down whole pineapples, etc. Braxton Hicks-like contractions and low back pain have really picked up recently, so I’m hopeful that means labor isn’t far off. It’s just so hard waiting.

We’re supposed to get snow tomorrow (Friday morning) and I’m hopeful that will be the boost baby needs to come out and meet her family! lol. It sounds crazy to buy into an old wives tale about stormy weather sparking labor but at this point, I’m a little desperate.

Ladies, if your baby was overdue, how long did you have to wait? How did you manage to relax? Was there any one technique you think finally kicked off labor? Share your comments here! I could use some advice! :o)

Michelle

 

23 thoughts on “Waiting On Baby: When A Due Date Comes & Goes…

  1. I went overdue (5 days) with my first, had an induction and then a c/s 17 hours later. I know it’s so annoying to hear but baby will come when she’s ready! I’ve only gone into labor on my own once and I didn’t do anything per say to stimulate it, BUT I swear my neighbor managed to lunge/squat herself into labor. Pineapple, sex and walking are supposed to help. Good luck! (and GO GREEN!)

  2. My first baby arrived naturally at 41 wks, 6 days. Baby #2 was 40 wks, 2 days, and baby #3 was 40 wks, 5 days. Some mamas just gestate longer than others! It seemed to run in my family too; all my mother’s babies were “late.” If you are feeling well and baby sounds good, it’s great to wait until your body is ready. I was so thankful for my care providers who were very reassuring and didn’t pressure me to intervene. Trust your instinct!

  3. Oh yes. My son loved the womb. My daughter is due in May, and I just hope she decides to come out! Just don’t drink castor oil. That’s the one thing my doula has said not to do to induce labor 😉 I’m sure everything will be fine, but it is nerve racking when you want that baby out so badly. Good luck!

  4. Hang in there Michelle! It feels like I know you since we have been following your progress since your big announcement. Anyways, She is going to be beautiful, perfect and right on time. Sometimes some babies just need to “cook” a little longer than others. I went over with all 3 of mine so I really do understand the impatience and axiety with wanting to hold her in your arms. She is going to worth the wait! Congratulations on your soon to be, bundle of joy.

  5. I had a scheduled C section at 39 weeks because my son was large. They were saying in the 11lb range but he ended up being 12lbs5oz and was 23inches long. Best advice I can give is to just rest. Things will happen the way its suppose to.

  6. I have 3 babies (grown now) Baby #1 was induced and 10 hours later I had a beautiful baby girl, Baby #2 Was induced on due date and 8 hours later beautiful baby girl. I had no complications but maybe they did it different 30 years ago….Baby #3 decided I was a elephant and was not coming, Many stress tests, 2 inductions w/o breaking water (different doctor) then finally scheduled a c-section….I guess it scared him out because he came at 10 pm the night before c-section was scheduled the next morning. I wish you the best

  7. My son was born on his due date…weighing in at 9 lbs 11 oz…my daughter came one day before hers thanks to being induced…she weighed 8 lbs 5 oz…I know how anxious a new mommy can get and think I would have gone insane if I had been in your shoes…I tried EVERYTHING I could think of to try to get them to come out early but they just seemed to be very comfortable rite where they were (even if I wasn’t)…I will be praying for you and hope that you have your precious little bundle in your arms really soon!!!

  8. My dr told me when I was getting anxious for our little one that the way you made him is about the only true way to jump start labor. I also spent a lot of time sitting on an exercise ball mostly because it was more comfortable at my desk but a friend said it helps the hips center up and widen correctly or something like that. I didn’t care it just felt better than a chair. I ended up going with an induction for my own reasons so hang in there. You’ll know the right decision to make and when. Things don’t always go as planned, but you’ll know when it’s time to do whatever you need to do. I’ve never had a c-section but I have 2 friends that have in the last week and both are doing fantastic one with no pain at all and one with very minimal so if it comes to that it is not always bad. Oh and don’t worry about the size. They told me Braxton would be in the upper 8lb range and he was only 7lb 11oz.

  9. Awe, waiting can be so hard! Of course you are so ready to hold baby and look into her eyes =) Your body will be thanking you in birth, waiting until baby is ready will help labor be so much easier. Easier, isn’t a good word to use. But being able to birth naturally is more possible if you wait on baby to choose due date. Have you heard of drinking red raspberry leaf tea? It will help you prepare for labor and spending time rocking back and forth on a birthing ball helps tremendously prepare cervix. Keep on walking, preparing house and doing squats and that baby girl will be here soon enough, hugs to you!

  10. Bravo for trying to wait it out! I’m sure you’ve done your research and know that due dates are somewhat arbritrary, and that they’re based on a 28 day cycle, which isn’t everyone’s “normal.” Still, I know it’s tough!
    The day or two before I went into labor were THE WORST, as far as being grumpy and uncomfortable; maybe that back pain means something… So excited for you!! We’ll keep you and your family in our prayers. ^.^

  11. I have 4 children. I was 2 weeks overdue with my first two and had to be induced. The second two I was also induced a few days after my due date. Enjoy the extra time to prepare. She will come when she is ready. Try not to worry about the labor part and remember things don’t always go as planned and that fine. The only thing that matters in the end is that she is fine and you are fine. The journey will be your own unique story; if you are induced, natural or c-section you won’t care at the end once you hold her for the 1st time. Get some rest and I will be praying for you.

  12. Red Raspberry leaf tea helps … and evening primrose oil! Look those up. I haven’t gone over due, but with #1 due to medical reasons (Preeclampsia) I was told to attempt to get going naturally if I could about 2 weeks early. And though I did end up needing pitocin I was a 6 before we started it! It was turned on and then turned off once I picked up on my own. And labor went well.We still had no medications and went natural. If you have a good labor team/support, and you remain calm … temporary pain is manageable for sure. #2 Came on her own on a stormy night! 😉 She is now 1 month old! So Stormy weather and pressure changes do make a difference! Walking, squats, pineapple, evening primrose oil, red raspberry leaf tea…my favorite idea is a pedicure! 🙂 Go get a foot massage!!!

  13. My first daughter came 1 day past due date-she was 8.5 lbs and 23 inches long. She also
    had a broken collarbone 😦 It did heal in 2 weeks but really scary! I did alot of walking those
    last few days but I don’t really know that it helped any! Good Luck and Congrats she will
    be here before you know it!

  14. Our first was 9 days late. I was miserable, cried a lot, and finally decided that he simply was not going to come at all. On the 8th day I hung pictures and redecorated the nursery. Even used a ladder to get the job done. At 6am the next day things finally started and he was born in 4 hours. Hang in there. What is an eternity to you now will disappear from memory very quickly.

  15. My daughter was due on August 13, but she waited until early morning on the 16th to arrive. I had a lot of menstrual type cramps for a couple of days before she was born. I walked a lot while I was pregnant with her. Sometimes 3 miles a day. I was blessed that from my first real contraction (and water breaking) until she was born was only about 1 1/2 hours. She weighed 7 lb 4 oz and was 20 inches long. Had planned for a natural childbirth and didn’t have a choice. Just made it to the hospital 30 minutes before she was born. This was nearly 30 years ago, but I remember it like it was yesterday. Hope you have an easy, natural, short birthing process. Can’t wait to see pictures on 19.

  16. Hi Michelle, my daughter, born 03/19/85, was seven days late.
    I wanted my daughter to be born on my dad’s birthday, which is the day I went into labor. 44 hrs later, when I finally relaxed enough to stop worrying about it, she came.

    My son, born 06/02/89 was eleven days late.
    My middle child was induced, but held out until the day after my brother’s knee surgery due to a motorcycle wreck
    I relaxed knowing he was going to be okay, and we weren’t splitting my mom between two hospitals at the same time…. and I went into light labor the morning they induced.

    My other son, born 07/20/96, was four days late.
    I wanted so badly to go to Notre Dame with my daughter for a National Competition she was in, but he wasn’t cooperating, no matter what the doc did to entice him to enter this world in time for me to leave. She and her dad left on a Saturday morning early with another father/daughter and I was able to relax after worrying and packing their cases. Once relaxed, I was in labor by noon, and they were in Indianapolis.

    So… the moral to this long story is… RELAX! Tense uptight emotional worrying will get you nothing good. So, relax, and enjoy it. 🙂
    Good luck and God Bless!

    Sherry French

  17. My 1st child was right on time and she was only 7lb 3oz, she was also born with a broken collarbone it was fine in about 2 weeks so don’t stress over it if it happens. My 2nd child was 14 days late after my Dr told me many times I would never carry him till my due date( cause he was a big baby) boy was he wrong. I got so tired of being ready and having everybody’s bags pack I just gave up. Well the night before I was to be induced I went into labor around midnight, I stayed up all night washing clothes & cleaning house to be ready for the baby. I got to the hospital around 6am and had him right after noon weighing in at 8lb 13oz.. I tried everything but castor oil to make me go into labor and nothing work, best thing to do is just try and relax and it will happen when she are ready.. Good Luck!! David Wood is my nephew…

  18. Have you tried nipple stimulation? I have had several friends do this at bedtime and were in labor by morning. Simple to do and does not hurt anything. Just you or hubby play with your nipples in a twisting, flicking manner. Good luck. Both of my babies were 2 weeks late so try to be patient. I will agree caster oil does not work. Just causes hemmorhoids.

  19. Eat some spicy food and walk, walk, walk! She’ll come out when she’s ready, but, in the meantime, enjoy your last moments of pregnancy! 😉

  20. Hi Michelle,

    It’s been a while since we talked, tornadoes that hit Huntsville a couple years ago. Ben knows me from working here in Orlando.

    I was always told, the longer your baby is in mommy, the healthier the beebee gets.

    My daughter was 10 lbs and I am small. 110 lbs. At the time though they thought a twin was hiding I was so big. I was 41 weeks. The next day they were going to induce. I think my daughter heard that and thought, “I don’t think so.” Lol

    Your so pretty! I can’t wait to see pics.

    Good luck and enjoy your time off with your bundle of joy. I’m sure you’ll spoil that baby with so much love, hugs, and kisses.

    Cheers,
    Barb

  21. I carried both my babies until 41 weeks and 5 days! and went into labor naturally both times. hang in there, you’re labor may just be around the corner! at the end of the day, you are well informed about it, so things will probably go well induction or not. Good Luck!

  22. Hi Michelle,

    I really admire your personal and engaging voice. I just wanted to say thank you for sharing such great advice and stories on your blog for expecting mothers! Congratulations on your pregnancy!

    I’ve taken a look through your website and we think you’ve done a fantastic job in covering topics that our brand’s audience of expecting mothers would be interested in reading. It would be great if you could join our community to feature your blog entries.

    If you would like to learn more about this, please send an email to info at atomicreach.com.

    Sincerely,
    Tina

  23. Hi, I was overdue 5 days and had my little man on 23rd March. I just kept walking. Walking whilst cleaning (blitzing madly) my home, the shops and even whilst watching TV! Finally my pains came and now baby is here and I am loving it. But is it too cheeky to say I would not have minded a few more days of full nights of sleep. ; D

Leave a Reply

