New Baby Lessons: The Three Month Old Edition

I’m learning a lot as a new mom. Oh yes, yes I am. Little nuggets of wisdom which I’ll pass along now for any other mommies-to-be out there. For the moms who already passed this stage, perhaps you can add to my list!

Baby Lessons (The Three Month Edition)

Lesson #1: Sometimes it’s OK to wallow in filth

Babies spit-up. Babies with acid reflux spit-up A LOT. Jane has acid reflux. Sooooo… Mommy and daddy are covered in spit-up… A LOT. At first I was changing my shirt with every slobber but I was doing laundry every. single. day. Multiple times a day. So I gave up. I’ve just decided it’s OK to be a little slovenly.

Lesson #2: Bottles in the dishwasher are a joke

Image Credit: MGN Online

Bottles by hand… Image Credit: MGN Online

Seriously. As a working mommy, pumping full-time for baby now, we go through a lot of bottles. At first, I thought I’d put the caps, nipples, rings and other accessories in those handy baby dishwasher baskets, alongside the bottles. Wrong. lol. It only took a wash or two to notice the bottles, especially the nipples, weren’t getting rinsed clean all the way. I’m not crazy about the idea of Jane drinking soapy residue… so I’ve been washing the bottles by hand ever since. Yes. ALL the bottles. Maybe we need to invest in a high-powered dishwasher?

Lesson #3: If you change baby’s diaper too fast after eating, she WILL poop

15 minute wait time. At least. Otherwise it’s a guarantee that as soon as I swap out a dirty cloth diaper for a fresh one, she’ll have a special delivery for mommy.

Lesson #4: What baby wants, baby gets

Paci Monitor...  Image Credit: MGN Online

Paci Monitor… Image Credit: MGN Online

Baby wants to be held and walked around the house? OK then. No sitting on the couch for me. Baby wants me to stand up next to the crib while she falls asleep… picking up her paci and giving it back to her as soon as it falls out over and over? OK then. Baby doesn’t want to fall asleep at all? OK then. Happy non-fussing baby is the top priority right? lol.

Lesson #5: Buy large sizes, only large ones

Little girl was a 9 lbr. when she arrived, so she kind of skipped over the “newborn” sizes. She’s since leveled out in her growth to a nice average but boy does she grow! A few weekends back we stocked up on 3 month-sized PJs and onesies. It wasn’t a week later and she was too long for nearly all of them! So yes, after our very expensive purchase… I’m now buying our little one sizes 6 months and up! They may be baggy but at least I won’t have to buy new ones in a week!

Moms, what are your lessons from the first three months of a baby’s life? Feel free to share them here! Or comment on what I’ve learned. :o) Happy parenting!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “New Baby Lessons: The Three Month Old Edition

  1. Always have grab and go snacks readily available! I am also for the most part exclusively pumping. I make about 55 ounces a day, so I am ALWAYS hungry! Ain’t nobody got time to make gourmet meals with a newborn! 😉 I find that fresh fruit, granola bars, and handfuls of cereal keep me going around the clock! And I totally understand you about the dishwasher! Ha! I am constantly washing bottles and pump parts!! I think I used the dishwasher one time. Hand washing it is! There is a great group of women on FB. The group is called WTE Exclusively Pumping Mommas. Look us up! Many working women that pump and do the same thing we do every day! 🙂

  2. Hi Michelle. Thanks for writing your baby blog! I have 3 teenagers now, so I am way out of these having to take care of the baby stuff, thank god, LOL. But I did love it when they were babies, and do sometimes miss it, (I don’t miss the not getting to sleep part though) haha. I know what you mean by buying bigger sizes. My babies were 6lbrs, and they only wore newborn for like 3 weeks or so with being that small, and that goes for the diapers too. So now if I buy anyone a baby gift I get bigger sizes in clothes and diapers. With my kids they outgrew the length of the sleepers/pajamas but they could still wear them other than that, so what I started doing was cutting the feet out of the sleepers that they had outgrew in length. I decided to start getting the clothes with no feet in them if I could and just put socks on them. I’m glad I will have that knowledge when I have grandkids.(which I hope is a few years away, since my oldest is only 17).

    • Love this idea! Footless jammies! I’ll have to try that… That’s her issue too. Too tall but OK in the middle.

Leave a Reply

